Browse Research Guides by Topic
Services for AMSL Law Students
Members of the Ave Maria School of Law community may renew circulating materials if no holds are pending. Contact us (email@example.com) to request a renewal.
The library locates, for Law School faculty and students, materials that either are not a part of this Library's collection, or are not readily available. The staff borrows these requested materials from other public, private and university libraries. Should you have any questions or suggestions, please contact us at firstname.lastname@example.org or (239) 687-5504.
WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services. WorldCat libraries are dedicated to providing access to their resources on the Web, where most people start their search for information.
Off Campus Usernames/Passwords
As AMSL law students, you can log on to most legal databases and web pages from any location around the world. If you require an access code, please contact the AMSL librarians. You will have access to legal databases such as:
Welcome to Ave Maria School of Law Library
Overview: Ave Maria School of Law Library
AMSL students and public patrons with library cards can borrow books, free of charge, from the AMSL Law Library.
AMSL law students also can request books online from other libraries, and these books will be delivered to the AMSL Law Library Circulation Desk.
- Portal to all AMSL Libraries materials and services
- Search for materials within AMSL Library
- Request materials outside of the Law Library
- Renew AMSL Library materials
AMSL Law Library
Law Library Information
AMSL Law Library Hours of Operation
View the hours of operation of the AMSL Law Library. We follow an academic schedule, meaning that our hours are shortened during law school holidays and summers.
AMSL Law Library Tours
Student tours are provided by the library staff and are scheduled during the fall semester. The tours are generally 30-minute long training sessions to acquaint new students with the Library’s complex structure and to demonstrate the research potential of its electronic environment. Additional tours may be scheduled throughout the year but are limited in order to keep the library quiet for its primary purpose of study and research.
AMSL Law Library Services
This page describes the current services the AMSL Law Library provides to students and faculty.
Online Legal Periodicals Indexes: A bibliographic database that cites articles from legal periodicals (1980-current) and indexes law books (1993-current). Periodical coverage includes law reviews, bar association journals, university publications, yearbooks, institutes, and government publications.
HeinOnline: Touted as “A modern link to legal history,” HeinOnline contains multiple library collections, such as the Law Journal Library, Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register Library, Manual of Patent Examining Procedure, Treaties and Agreements Library, U.S. Attorney General Opinions, U.S. Supreme Court Library—just to name a few.
Google Scholar A fantastic (and free) search engine which you can use to search for law review articles online. More often than not, the search will simply redirect you to the article in HeinOnline's database.
AMSL Law Library Research Guides
Researching at AMSL
Legal Research Guides
- Asylum Law
- Business Law
- Canon Law
- Energy Law
- Family Court in New York
- Family Law and Dependency Issues
- Florida Drug Prevention and Control Act
- Florida Family Law
- Human Trafficking
- Land Use
- Legal Citators
- Products Liability
- Warrantless Searches in the State of Florida
Georgetown Law Library, Research Strategies for Seminar Papers & Journal Notes
Marian Gould Gallagher Law Library, University of Washington School of Law, Writing for & Publishing in Law Reviews
AMSL Law Library Books on Legal Research & Writing
The following books are part of the AMSL Law Library Collection. Click on the linked title to see the catalog record (for location and status of the item). Many of these books are located On Reserve behind the Ciruculation Desk, as indicated.