Florida Consumer Collection Practices Act by Mark Rasmuson: 1. Statutes & Legislative History

Chapter 559 Florida Statutes & Selective Legislative History 
Fla. Stat. §§ 559.55–559.785

559.55 Definitions. 

History

• s. 1, ch. 2014-116. Consumer Collection Practices (H 413). 
• 2014 STAFF ANALYSIS 
• s. 677, ch. 2003-261. Governmental Reorganization (S 1712).
  
• s. 817, ch. 97-103. Florida Statutes/Reviser's Bill (S 440). 
• ss. 4, 13, ch. 93-275. (Summary Only) (H 1423)

559.551 Short title. 

History

• ss. 5, 13, ch. 93-275 (H 1423)
  

559.552 Relationship of state and federal law. 

History

• ss. 5, 13, ch. 93-275 (H 1423)

559.553 Registration of consumer collection agencies required; exemptions. 

History

• s. 2, ch. 2014-116. Consumer Collection Practices (H 413).
• 2014 STAFF ANALYSIS
• s. 678, ch. 2003-261. Governmental Reorganization (S 1712).
• ss. 5, 13, ch. 93-275. (Summary Only) (H 1423)

559.554 Powers and duties of the commission and office. 

History

• s.3, ch. 2014-116. Consumer Collection Practices (H 413).
  • 2014 STAFF ANALYSIS

559.5541 Examinations and investigations. 

History

• s.4, ch. 2014-116. Consumer Collection Practices (H 413).
  • 2014 STAFF ANALYSIS

559.555 Registration of consumer collection agencies; procedure. 

History

• s.5, ch. 2014-116. Consumer Collection Practices (H 413).
  • 2014 STAFF ANALYSIS
• s. 679, ch. 2003-261. Governmental Reorganization (S 1712).
• ss. 5, 13, ch. 93-275. (Summary Only) (H 1423)

559.5551 Requirements of registrants. 

History

• s.6, ch. 2014-116. Consumer Collection Practices (H 413).
  • 2014 STAFF ANALYSIS

559.5556 Maintenance of records. 

History

• s. 1, ch. 2010-127. Consumer Debt Collection (S 2086). 

559.563 Void registration 

History

• s. 680, ch. 2003-261. Governmental Reorganization (S 1712).
• ss. 5, 13, ch. 93-275. (Summary Only) (H 1423)

559.565 Enforcement action against out-of-state consumer debt collector. 

History

• s.7, ch. 2014-116. Consumer Collection Practices (H 413).
• 2014 STAFF ANALYSIS
• s. 2, ch. 2010-127. Consumer Debt Collection (S 2086). 
• s. 818, ch. 97-103. Florida Statutes/Reviser's Bill (S 440).
• ss. 5, 13, ch. 93-275. (Summary Only) (H 1423)

559.715 Assignment of consumer debts. 

History

• s. 3, ch. 2010-127. Consumer Debt Collection (S 2086).
• ss. 6, 13, ch. 93-275. (Summary Only) (H 1423)

559.72 Prohibited practices generally. 

History

• s. 4, ch. 2010-127. Consumer Debt Collection (S 2086).
• s. 1, ch. 2001-206. Consumer Collection Practices (S 94). 
• s. 819, ch. 97-103. Florida Statutes/Reviser's Bill (S 440).
• ss. 7, 13, ch. 93-275. (Summary Only) (H 1423)

559.725 Consumer complaints; administrative duties. 

History

• s. 5, ch. 2010-127. Consumer Debt Collection (S 2086).
• s. 681, ch. 2003-261. Governmental Reorganization (S 1712).
• ss. 8, 13, ch. 93-275. (Summary Only) (H 1423)

559.726 Subpoenas. 

History

• s. 6, ch. 2010-127. Consumer Debt Collection (S 2086).

559.727 Cease and desist orders. 

History

• s. 7, ch. 2010-127. Consumer Debt Collection (S 2086).

559.730 Administrative remedies. 

History

• s. 8, ch. 2014-116. Consumer Collection Practices (H 413).
• 2014 STAFF ANALYSIS
• s. 8, ch. 2010-127. Consumer Debt Collection (S 2086).
• s. 682, ch. 2003-261. Governmental Reorganization (S 1712).
• s. 250, ch. 96-410. (H 751)
• ss. 9, 13, ch. 93-275. (Summary Only) (H 1423)

559.77 Civil remedies. 

History

• s. 9, ch. 2010-127. Consumer Debt Collection (S 2086).
• s. 2, ch. 2001-206. Consumer Collection Practices (S 94).
• s. 820, ch. 97-103. Florida Statutes/Reviser's Bill (S 440).
• ss. 11, 13, ch. 93-275. (Summary Only) (H 1423)

559.78 Judicial enforcement. 

History

• ss. 11, 13, ch. 93-275. (Summary Only) (H 1423)

559.785 Criminal penalty. 

History

• s. 683, ch. 2003-261. Governmental Reorganization (S 1712).
• ss. 12, 13, ch. 93-275. (Summary only) H 1423)

Under Fla. Stat. §93.11(3)(f), the statute of limitations for the Florida Consumer Collection Practices Act, which is "[a]n action founded on statutory liability," specifies an action for recovery of real property must be commenced "WITHIN FOUR YEARS."

West's Florida Statutes Annotated

Available in the Florida Room at Ave Maria School of Law Library.