Skip to Main Content

Cost Effective Legal Research: Free Websites

Save $ and make $ by researching wisely

Free Web Resources

A few key resources are listed below, but many more can be found on the library's guide Legal Research on the Web.

For free smart phone apps, see our Mobile Apps for Law Students Guide.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
A particularly good source for case law. State reported cases back to 1950, Federal circuit/district reported cases back to 1923. U.S. Supreme Court cases from 1791. Unreported coverage varies.

Florida Supreme Court database
Use this database to supplement Google Scholar. It includes cases from all court levels in Florida.

FastCase This link opens in a new window
Research case law for free on Android or iPhone. No Fastcase subscription needed.

Jureeka
A Firefox or Chrome add on that creates a search bar on your browser to enter citations and find them on the free web
American Law Sources Online (ALSO)
Locate statutes and regulations for all fifty states and federal.

eCFR This link opens in a new window
Federal Regulations

Congress.gov Beta
Bills & Acts 2001 to current. Find current bills. Will eventually replace Thomas.

Thomas This link opens in a new window
Bills 1989-current, Public Laws & some other legislative history documents.
FDsys This link opens in a new window
Contains U.S. Code, federal legislative history materials, federal regulations (CFR and Federal Register). From the U.S. Government Printing Office.

Dockets
Dockets list the pleadings and motions filed in a case, as well as court orders. Some online dockets contain full text of the documents filed. A docket is essential to keep track of a case you are involved in, but can also be used to find sample pleadings and motions. Dockets can be searched to see if someone was a party in a civil or criminal case.

PACER This link opens in a new window
Federal Court dockets, except Supreme Court. Costs 10 cents a page. Opinions are free.
LLRX Court Rules, Forms and Dockets This link opens in a new window
Locate state court dockets.

Collier County Docket
A great place to find full text examples of Florida pleadings and motions because you can search by document type.
Law Library Guide On Courts, Dockets, Rules & Briefs
See for more information.
Free Forms on the Web
Part of the library research guide Forms and Practice Materials, this guide contains many more links to forms on the web.
Wex Legal Encyclopedia

Which Resource will you have?

Search the Library to locate books, e-books, videos, articles, journals...
Other Search Options