These sources will guide a researcher on the topic of physician-assisted suicide. It is suggested to start with the encyclopedias, then articles and then the books to gradually develop knowledge. These resources will help the researcher to find primary sources and present both sides of the argument on whether euthanasia should be legal.
This title provides an overview of all the relevant caselaw, news articles, briefs, oral arguments, defintions, and much more. This book will help any reader have an overall view of euthanasia and the arguments on both sides of the debate.
MARGARET C. JASPER, THE RIGHT TO DIE
This title provides a comprehansive look at euthanasia, providing: historical analysis, relevant case law, statutes, organizations, glossary, sample documents, and a constitutional overview.
MARGARET OTLOWSKI, VOLUNTARY EUTHANASIA AND THE COMMON LAW
This title gives a historical analysis of euthanasia and provides an analysis of both criminal law and medical practice. Otlowski makes and argument for reform, but also provides relevant case law and materials.
JENNIFER M. SCHERER, EUTHANASIA AND THE RIGHT TO DIE
This tite examines euthanasia from a cultural persepective.
The Ethics of Euthanasia by 
A Concise History of Euthanasia by 
Euthanasia, Ethics and Public Policy by 
Euthanasia, Death with Dignity and the Law by 
Euthanasia Examined by 
Forced Exit by Lindsay Reynolds, Losing the Quality of Life: The Move Toward Society's Understanding and Acceptance of Physician Aid-in-Dying and the Death with Dignity Act 48 New Eng. L. Rev. 343 (2104)
Discusses background of physician-assisted suicide, terminology, case law, why some states refuse to enact Death with Dignity Acts, addresses studies, and makes an overall arguement for active voluntary euthanasia.
Stephen Hoffman, Euthanasia and Physician-Assisted SuidiceL A Comparison of E.U. and U.S. Law, 63 Syracuse L. Rev. 383 (2013)
Provides a detailed defintion of euthanasia. Covers common law approaches, Euopean laws (United Kingdom,the Netherlands and Swiitzerland), and laws in the United States (Oregon, Montana, and Washington).
Mason L. Allen, Crossing the Rubicon: The Netherlands' Steady March Towards Involuntary Euthanasia, 31 Brook. J. Int'l L. 535 (2006).
The Netherlands became the first country to deciminalize physician-assisted suicide. This article examines the nations march towards acitve invountary euthanasia.
Sylvaine Colombo, Not Just Euthanasia: Recognizing a Legal Positive Right to Palliative Care, 24 Med. & L. 203 (2005).
Focuses on the necessity of providing pallative care and Israel.
Herbert Hendin & Kathleen Foley, Physician-Assisted Suicide in Oregon: A Medical Perspective, 106 Mich. L. Rev. 1613 (2008).
Addresses Oregon's Death with Dignity Act and criticizes the state for not enforcing the safegaurds needed to effectively monitor the law. Provides an indepth look at Oregon's laws on euthanasia, which set the ball rolling into American acceptance of the practice.
In all of these enyclopedias, a researcher will find decisionmaking at the end of life, locate an historical overview, case law, statutes, forms, and get an overall view of the subject matter.
American Jurisprudence
16A Am. Jur. 2d Constitutional Law § 438
16B Am. Jur. 2d Constitutional Law §899
22 Am. Jur. 2d Death §582
22A Am. Jur. 2d Death §§ 423, 463, 498, 537
40 Am. Jur. 2d Homicide §105
40A Am. Jur. 2d Homicide §§ 619-625
American Jurisprudence Trials
63 Am. Jur. Trials 1.
Corpus Juris Secundum
41 C.J.S. Homicide §439
77 C.J.S. Right to Die §1
83 C.J.S. Suicide § 8,13
FLORIDA SPECIFIC:
West's Florida Practice Series
14 Fla. Prac., Elder Law § 4:6
