Provides instructions and examples to assist in producing the policies and supporting documents that affect IA programs and activities. Includes templates and examples. Currently under review and being updated; therefore the document link has been removed.

Provides specific procedures for initiating, resolving, and closing single audit reports, and includes examples and templates.

Implements a certification system for those designated/delegated the authority to function as an awarding official for P.L. 93-638 contracts and grants.

This handbook was developed to complement Part 25 of the IAM on Safety & Occupational Health. This handbook lays the groundwork for incorporating occupational safety and health into the planning of all bureau work projects and tasks.

This handbook documents the procedures required to implement the IA Debt Management policy, 27 IAM 4. 

Provides the procedures for recording costs for IA-managed construction projects where ownership or ultimate ownership of the facility will reside with IA.

Provides information for employees, supervisors, managers, and human resources specialists regarding responsibilities for attendance and leave administration.

Documents the procedures required to implement the merit promotion and placement policy (28 IAM 335). This handbook is intended primarily for HR professionals but may also be useful to IA employees.

This handbook documents the procedures required to implement the Bureau of Indian Education (BIE) High Risk Oversight policy, 30 IAM 19.  This Handbook is intended for all BIE offices and personnel who conduct and implement the coordinated High Risk Fiscal Oversight Reviews.

Supplements the Department Manual 303 DM 7. Provides guidance for the preparation of four certificates which document and formalize the collection and analysis of boundary evidence relating to Indian trust assets: Land Description Review Certificate, Chain of Surveys Certificate, Certificate of Inspection and Possession, and Boundary Assurance Certificate.

The purpose of this handbook is to provide guidance to BIA staff for processing leasehold and trust land mortgages on trust or restricted land; specifically, how to review and analyze a mortgage loan request from a lender using a standardized process.

This handbook documents the procedures required to implement 52 IAM 14: Business Leases policy. Specifically, it documents the business leasing process to assist Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA) management, BIA Division of Real Estate Services (DRES) staff, and support staff in providing services to Indian landowners, applicants, and the general public.

Provides procedures for each action necessary to accomplish management of Fluid Mineral estate. The Fluid Mineral estate consists of the subsurface resources of Hydrocarbons (oil and natural gas, and various other gases such as hydrogen, carbon dioxide, helium, and nitrogen) and Geothermal.

Replaces 53 BIAM Supplement 2; provides information and procedures applicable to forest management planning.

Replaces 53 BIAM Supplement 3 & Timber Sale Records Handbook; provides information, procedures, and processes to prepare and administer a contract sale of Indian trust forest products. 

Replaces 53 BIAM Supplement 4 & Timber Sale Records Handbook; provides information, procedures & processes for harvesting Indian trust forest products with or without permits.

Replaces 53 BIAM Supplement 5; provides guidance on procedures and processes necessary to prepare, administer, and report on forest development projects on Indian forest lands.

Replaces all prior handbook versions regarding forest trespass situations on Indian trust land.

Replaces all previous versions.

Documents the practices and procedures required to implement the Woodland Management policy (53 IAM 10); namely to manage woodland resources on Indian lands.

Replaces 53 BIAM & Timber Sale Records Handbook; provides the information, procedures, and processes to collect, monitor, and distribute forest management deductions.

Provides the standards, requirements, and procedures required to implement the Bureau of Indian Affairs’ (BIA) policy on the Agricultural and Rangeland (Ag & Range) Management program as documented in the Indian Affairs Manual (IAM); specifically 54 IAM 1: Agricultural and Rangeland Overview, and in other Part 54 policy chapters.

Provides operating procedures and guidance in one location in order to achieve the Safety of Dams program mission more effectively. This Handbook applies to all new and existing BIA high- and significant-hazard potential dams.

Provides guidance for preparing documents required by the National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA) of 1969, and the Council on Environmental Quality (CEQ) regulations implementing NEPA for BIA actions. This is an update to the 2005 version of the Handbook.

This handbook documents the practices and procedures necessary to manage HIP resources on Indian lands. It applies to all IA offices and programs participating in the management, accountability, utilization, or protection of housing.

This handbook replaces the "Indian Affairs Educational Space Criteria Handbook," issued on 11/01/05.

Provides standard operating procedures and guidelines for the administration and management of the BIA Hazardous Fuels Reduction Program, and is intended as a supplement to the Interagency Prescribed Fire Planning and Implementation Procedures Reference Guide. This Handbook also supports operational guidance established in 90 IAM 1.4C (2)-H, Fuels Management.

Standard operating procedures, guidelines, and policy for managing and administering the BIA Wildfire Prevention Program, including prevention planning, implementation, evaluation, and reporting. 

This handbook replaces 90 IAM 1.4 C (10)-H: National Wildfire Investigations Handbook, and it documents the standards and procedures to implement the policy on wildland fire origin and cause investigations on Indian lands as documented in 90 IAM 6: Wildfire Investigation. Specifically, it addresses the complicated jurisdictional issues associated with wildfires, the investigation process as it relates to wildfire trespass, the importance of coordination with law enforcement agencies, and establishes national Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA) wildfire investigation documentation requirements from the initial response through the litigation process.

Provides guidance to employees and managers who write, type, review or surname correspondence.

This is revision 1 of Version IV. Version IV was released on 5/16/16. These updates add procedures for requesting reservation proclamations (at section 3.4.1) and make other minor editing updates throughout the handbook.

This version replaces the handbook titled "90 IAM 1.4 C (7)-H: Fuels Program Business Management Handbook," issued 2/01/06. This handbook functions as a companion text to the BIA Fuels Management Handbook.

This document serves as the pandemic plan for the Office of the Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs, the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and the Bureau of Indian Education. It applies to all Indian Affairs offices and employees in planning work and executing response activities. The plan is dynamic and will be updated as needed. 

Provides the requirements and procedures for probate case preparation and processing, including estates subject to the American Indian Probate Reform Act. Please contact the Office of Trust Services' Division of Probate to request a copy of their handbook: (202) 208-5831.

Provides general requirements for processing agricultural, residential, and business leases and permits on Indian trust lands under the jurisdiction of the BIA.  

Provides general requirements for processing agricultural, residential, and business leases and permits on Indian trust lands under the jurisdiction of the BIA.  

Provides general requirements for processing agricultural, residential, and business leases and permits on Indian trust lands under the jurisdiction of the BIA.  

Provides general requirements for processing agricultural, residential, and business leases and permits on Indian trust lands under the jurisdiction of the BIA.  

Provides guidance for the acquisition of direct leased and General Services Administration (GSA)-provided space by programs and offices within Indian Affairs.