LibGuides: Patent Law by Angel Leiva: Secondary Sources

Google Books

Nutshell Series

Patent Law in a Nutshell
ISBN: 9780314279996
Publication Date: 2012-03-30
Provides an overview concerning the foundations of patent law, patent eligibility, prior art, nonobviousness, international procedures, and other important topics.

Patent Law Handbook

Patents and How to Get One: A Practical Handbook by U.S. Department of Commerce
ISBN: 9650060375
Publication Date: September 11, 2008
Produced by the United States Patent and Trademark Office, this is a convenient and easy to read resource for inventors looking to protect their valuable work.

AMSL Library Catalog

Search AMSL Catalog

Black's Law Dictionary

Black's Law Dictionary
Most cited legal dictionary in legal briefs and court opinions.

Digests and Treatises

Manual of Patent Examining Procedure, Ninth Edition, March 2014 by U.S. Dept. of Commerce, United States Patent and Trademark Office
This manual is published by the United States Patent and Trademark Office to provide U.S. attorneys with references, practices and procedures relative to the prosecution of patent applications before the USPTO, including Title 37 Code of Federal Regulations Patents, Trademarks, and Copyrights and the Regulations Under the Patent Cooperation Treaty, as in force from July 1, 2014.
West Key Number System
Developed by West, this key number system is the most comprehensive and widely used indexing system for case law issues, and it is also widely used by patent law students and attorneys.
Patent Law Digest, 25th Federal Circuit Anniversary Edition by Donald S. Chisum
This three-volume Patent Law Digest is a review of the decisions containing summaries of more than 2,000 precedential, patent-related decisions of the United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit and the United States Supreme Court for the 25 year period since the establishment of the Federal Circuit in October 1982 through December 2007.
Patent Law Perspectives by Eric Bensen
This treatise is an analysis of developments in patent law and the effects of these developments on current and future practice.

Notable Patent Law Review Articles

Stephen Yelderman, Improving Patent Quality with Applicant Incentives, 28 Harv. J. Law & Tec 77 (2014).
This law review article deals with the current crisis involving a high number of invalid patents that have been issued by the USPTO, which has led to a significant reduction in the quality of issued patents, and that urgent modifications, in both funding and examining procedures, must be addressed to make the process more effective and to increase the overall quality of issued patents.
Sarah Tran, Patent Powers, 25 Harv. J. Law & Tec 609 (2012).
This law review article emphasizes on a "new era" in patent law policies promulgated by the Federal Circuit and the USPTO; and that such powers exercised by these two government bodies have changed the standards and procedures involved in the granting and amending of patents by giving priority to those that are of national importance.
Jeanne C. Fromer, The Layers of Obviousness in Patent Law, 22 Harv. J. Law & Tec 75 (2008).
This law review article turns to the basics of patent law, requiring the need for innovating patentable subject-matter, requiring that patents meet the "nonobviousness" standard with the goal to attain technological advances, and in exchange, award the patent holder, for limited times, a monopoly over her invention.
Jeffery M. Duncan, et. al., A Comparison between the Judicial and Administrative Routes to Enforce Intellectual Property Rights in China, 7 J. Marshall Rev. Intell. Prop. L. 529 (2008).
This law review article entails the intellectual property laws and procedures, both judicial and administrative, that China has developed in the past couple decades, with the goal that such familiarization with their law system would help best understand an applicant's rights to protect their invention.

Tools and Manuals

Patent Law Review Resources

Legal Encyclopedias

Corpus Juris Secundum
A legal encyclopedia, published by West, provides a wide array of persuasive authority in over 430 topics, including patent law resources.
American Jurisprudence 2d
A legal encyclopedia, published by West, containing over 140 volumes, provides extensive research to cases and other publications, including patent law resources.