Whitehead, Daniel: Administrative Law

The Copyright Office's website includes circulars on copyright and works of visual arts and access to copyright registrations from 1978 to present.

The NEA is an independent agency that provides grants for the arts and undertakes initiatives to promote the arts. The website provides access to NEA research publications.

The NASAA advocates for state arts agencies. The website includes directory of state arts agencies.

The research institute runs nineteen museums and nine research centers and makes a number of useful research resources available on its website.

NARA has millions of photographs and graphic images and holds many records relating to the looting and restitution of Holocaust-Era Assets.

The Cultural Heritage Center administers the responsibilities of the United States under the 1970 UNESCO Convention on the Means of Prohibiting and Preventing the Illicit Import, Export and Transfer of Ownership of Cultural Property. This site describes the process by which the State Department enters into agreements with other countries to restrict the importation of certain cultural property. It also contains information on import restrictions, such as a chronological chart of restrictions and information on restrictions by country, which includes the history, purpose, and text of the agreements, the official designated list of of restricted objects (published in the Federal Register), and some images of objects subject to restriction.

The NPS administers most of the sites in the United States on the World Heritage List.

UNESCO works to protect arts and culture. It has coordinated a number of conventions to protect cultural heritage and administers a number of arts-related programs. The website includes many useful resources, such as a database of national cultural heritage laws and the text of conventions, declarations, and recommendations related to culture.

Provides tax deductions for gifts to institutions for specified purposes, including educational. This means that contributions of artwork to museums may be deducted from personal income.

Sets forth guidelines for an appraisal of tangible personal property. An appraisal of a collection, particularly in the fine arts, should include factors included in this document.

Regulations related to archaeological resources protection.

Regulations governing the import of certain cultural property and pre-Columbian sculptures and murals.

Regulations on Native American archaeological resources.

World Heritage Convention regulations.

Regulations promulgated by the U.S. Copyright Office governing copyright registration and other procedures, including regulations regarding the Visual Arts Registry and specific requirements for the registration of pictorial, graphic, and sculptural works.

Regulations from the Department of the Interior regarding cultural property.

Regulations related to the National Endowment for the Arts.