Skip to Main Content

Elder Law by Tina Marie Soriano : Secondary Sources

Treatises

ELDER LAW

Links

ELDER LAW

Aging in Place
  • "Many adults care for aging parents, support their own children and face their own retirement. Seniors are an increasing proportion of society, economic benefits are shrinking, costs are rising. House neglect and home injuries are primary causes of relocating to nursing homes. It doesn’t need to be an inevitable fact of aging to live out life in a nursing home. Current laws allow those who are otherwise eligible, to be given the choice of care setting that is the least restrictive and most appropriate."

Chicago Nursing Home Abuse Attorney Blog
  • Provides insight on nursing home abuse cases, matters and opinions in Illinois.
 
Elder Law Issues
  • "Legal issues relevant to seniors, persons with disabilities, their families and their legal counsel. Focus on Arizona developments and law."
 
Elder Law Monitor
  • Blog covers elder law news stories from around the country, but primarily in Illinois. Topics include neglect cases, power of attorney rules and changes to the law.
 
Elder Law Prof Blog
  • Covers elder law, elder care, government resources and related legal news and issues.
 
Estate of Denial
  • "Shining light on the dark side of estate management.This website will hopefully provide perspective on what we call Involuntary Redistribution of Assets." The blawg welcomes submitted stories about estate fraud and elder abuse at the hands of lawyers and judges.
 
Florida Elder Law and Estate Planning
  • "News and views related to Florida estate planning, elder law, Medicaid planning, wills and trusts, special needs trusts, veterans benefits, probate and trust administration."
 
Florida Estate Planning Lawyer Blog
  • Covers estate planning legal issues, cases, and news with a focus on Florida law.
 
GreisGuide to LTACHs
  • "Provides timely news, articles, white papers, and event information to members of the Long Term Acute Care Hospital community, including health care executives, physicians and patients alike."
Marshall Elder and Estate Planning Blog
  • "Information about estate planning, taxes, long term care, home care, Medicaid (medical assistance), Medicare, veterans pension benefits, federal estate taxes, and other issues relevant to the financial security and personal autonomy of older adults."

Nursing Home Abuse and Neglect Blog

  • Covers nursing home abuse, elder abuse, and other elder law issues with a focus on California.

Nursing Home Law Blog
  • "Information related to nursing homes & the care that they provide."
PA Elder, Estate & Fiduciary Law Blog
  • This blawg focuses on elder law, long-term care, end-of-life and health care surrogate decision-making, estate and personal planning, fiduciary administrations (by agents under powers of attorney, custodians, guardians, executors/administrators and trustees), elders' dispute resolution, and Orphans' Court litigation in Pennsylvania, with reference to trends nationally.
Patricia E. Kefalas Dudek Advocacy Blog
  • Posts are all excerpts written by outside sources, presented without commentary. Topics include elder care, people with disabilities, autism, legislation, law firm management, veterans and insurance issues.
Pennsylvania Nursing Home Abuse Lawyer Blog
  • Discusses nursing home abuse laws, reports and cases in Pennsylvania and around the nation.
The Law Office of Barb Cashman
  • "Elder law and policy issues, featuring guest posts by attorneys and other professionals working in elder professional services."
The LegalBEAT
  • "Social Security Disability Blog: More than just retirement." Offers information on applying for Social Security Disability status, including Q&A video clips.
Thom L. Cooper Co. Elder Law Blog
  • "Dealing with estate planning, case studies, asset protection, estate recovery, health, nursing home planning, veterans benefits."
Tully Rinckey Law Blog
  • Blog discusses wide range of legal topics, including military law, family law, labor & employment law, civil rights, bankruptcy law and elder law.

Law Journals

ELDER LAW
 
2008-09 Nyberg 6106.01
Meirson, Arthur  "Prosecuting Elder Abuse: Setting the Gold Standard in the Golden State."  Hastings Law Journal  60 (2008):431-52.  Pp. 438-40, fns. 43-93. Citations only. Cites to codes.
Covers elder abuse laws dealing with aged and/or vulnerable adults and physicial and/or financial abuse.

 

2010-11Nyberg6574.01

Pietsch, James H.  "Who's Afraid of Protecting Older Persons?-Addressing the False Illusion of Having to Keep `Elder' Out of Elder Abuse Laws." Georgetown Journalon Poverty Law & Policy  16 (2009):391-411. P. 395, fn. 17. Citations only. Cites to codes.

Covers the fifteen states that have laws using "age as a criterion for providing protective services to seniors who are victims of abuse."

 

2004-05 Nyberg 4948.02

Rosenfield, David  "From California to Illinois to Florida, Oh My!: The Need for a More Uniform Driver's License Renewal Policy."  Elder Law Journal  12 (2004):449-84.  P. 457, fn. 60. Citations only. Cites to codes.

Covers the eleven states that have laws that "mandate a shorter license length as the driver ages."

 

2001-02 Nyberg 4382.05

Northey, Kathleen  "Mental Capacity for Will Execution."  Kansas Elder Law Network   http://www.keln.org/bibs/northey2.html.

 

1996-97 Nyberg 3118.03

Thompson, William  "KELN Bibliography: Grandparents Rights-Visitation."  Kansas Elder Law Network   http://www.ink.org/public/keln/bibs/thompson.html.

 

 

Search the Library to locate books, e-books, videos, articles, journals...
Search For

Other Search Options