LibGuides: International Human Rights by Siomara Umaña: Central America

Belize

Constitution

Constitution of Belize (2002) (Belize Legal Information Network) in English
Constitution of Belize (1981) (Georgetown University Political Database of the Americas) with 1988 updates; in English
Constitution Finder (University of Richmond T.C. Williams School of Law)

Executive

Judicial

COURTS: Supreme Court
Belize Legal Information Network: E-Library (Belize. Ministry of the Attorney General) includes court rules and court judgments
WIPO Lex: Belize IP Laws and Treaties (World Intellectual Property Organization)

Legislative

GAZETTE: Government Gazette
PARLIAMENT: National Assembly, consisting of the House of Representatives and the Senate
Laws of Belize (Belize Legal Information Network)
NATLEX: Belize (International Labour Organization) database of national laws on labor, social security and related human rights

Legal Guides

Global Legal Information Catalog: Belize (Law Library of Congress) provides bibliographic information on materials in our reference collection
Multinational Reference (Law Library of Congress)
Belize Legal Information Network
ForIntLaw: Belize (Washburn University Law Library)
Legal Services (U.S. Embassy, Belize) includes a list of attorneys
Update: Guide to Caribbean Law Research (GlobaLex)
World Legal Information Institute: Belize (WorldLII)
World Legal Materials from North America: Belize (Cornell Legal Information Institute)

General Sources

Country Study: Belize (Library of Congress) January 1992
Handbook of Latin American Studies (Library of Congress)
Chiefs of State and Cabinet Members of Foreign Governments: Belize (U.S. Central Intelligence Agency)
Consular Information Sheet: Belize (U.S. Dept. of State)
Country Information: Belize (U.S. Dept. of State)
Country Profile: Belize (BBC Monitoring)
Country Reports on Human Rights Practices: Belize (U.S. Dept. of State)
Fact Sheet: U.S. Relations With Belize (U.S. Dept. of State)
Human Rights in Belize (Amnesty International)
International Religious Freedom Reports: Belize (U.S. Dept. of State)
Latin American Studies: Belize (University of Texas, Austin)
NATIONAL LIBRARY: National Library Service and Information System
NEWS: BBC World News: Latin America & Caribbean
U.S. Embassy, Belize City (U.S. Dept. of State)
World Factbook: Belize (U.S. Central Intelligence Agency)
World Health Organization: Belize
Yahoo: Belize

Costa Rica

Constitution

Costa Rica: Constitutions / Constituciones (Georgetown University Political Database of the Americas) Includes the 1949 Constitution and 2003 reforms; in Spanish
International Constitutional Law: Costa Rica Index (Universität Bern Institut für Öffentliches Recht) includes background information and links to constitutions elsewhere

Executive

Casa Presidencial

Judicial

Tribunal Supremo de Elecciones

Legislative

OFFICIAL GAZETTE: La Gaceta, Diario Oficial
PARLIAMENT: Asamblea Legislativa
Normas Basicas de Derecho Publico (CESDEPU - Centro de Estudios Superiores de Derecho Publico) offers updated and consolidated full texts in Spanish of the constitution and laws; in Spanish
NATLEX: Costa Rica (International Labour Organization) database of national laws on labor, social security and related human rights

Legal Guides

Global Legal Information Catalog: Costa Rica (Law Library of Congress) provides bibliographic information on materials in our reference collection
Global Legal Monitor: Costa Rica (Law Library of Congress)
Multinational Reference (Law Library of Congress)
ForIntLaw: Costa Rica (Washburn University Law Library)
Guide to Foreign and International Legal Databases - Costa Rica (New York University Law Library)
Update: Guide to Legal Research in Costa Rica (GlobaLex)
World Legal Information Institute: Costa Rica (WorldLII)
World Legal Materials from North America: Costa Rica (Cornell Legal Information Institute)

General Sources

Handbook of Latin American Studies (Library of Congress)
Chiefs of State and Cabinet Members of Foreign Governments: Costa Rica (U.S. Central Intelligence Agency)
Consular Information Sheet: Costa Rica (U.S. Dept. of State)
Country Information: Costa Rica (U.S. Dept. of State)
Country Reports on Human Rights Practices: Costa Rica (U.S. Dept. of State)
Embassy of Costa Rica, Washington
Fact Sheet: U.S. Relations With Costa Rica (U.S. Dept. of State)
Human Rights in Costa Rica (Amnesty International)
International Religious Freedom Reports: Costa Rica (U.S. Dept. of State)
NATIONAL LIBRARY: Sistema Nacional de Bibliotecas Costa Rica
NEWS: BBC World News: Latin America & Caribbean
U.S. Embassy, San José (U.S. Dept. of State)
World Factbook: Costa Rica (U.S. Central Intelligence Agency)
WWW-VL Latin American Studies: Costa Rica (University of Texas, Austin)
Yahoo: Costa Rica

For more information on Costa Rica see:

Global Legal Monitor: Costa Rica

El Salvador

Constitution

República de El Salvador Constituciones (Georgetown University Political Database of the Americas) includes the 1983 edition with 2000 reforms; in Spanish

Executive

Presidencia de la República
El Salvador: National Executive Branch / Poder Ejecutivo Nacional (Georgetown University Political Database of the Americas)

Judicial

Tribunal Supremo Electoral

Legislative

OFFICIAL GAZETTE: Diario Oficial
PARLIAMENT: Asamblea Legislativa
NATLEX: El Salvador (International Labour Organization) database of national laws on labor, social security and related human rights

Legal Guides

Global Legal Information Catalog: El Salvador (Law Library of Congress) provides bibliographic information on materials in our reference collection
Multinational Reference (Law Library of Congress)
ForIntLaw: El Salvador (Washburn University Law Library)
Judicial Assistance: El Salvador (U.S. Dept. of State)
Update: Guide to Legal Research in El Salvador (GlobaLex)
World Legal Information Institute: El Salvador (WorldLII)
World Legal Materials from North America: El Salvador (Cornell Legal Information Institute)

General Sources

Country Study: El Salvador (Library of Congress) November 1988
Handbook of Latin American Studies (Library of Congress)
Chiefs of State and Cabinet Members of Foreign Governments: El Salvador (U.S. Central Intelligence Agency)
Consular Information Sheet: El Salvador (U.S. Dept. of State)
Country Information: El Salvador (U.S. Dept. of State)
Country Reports on Human Rights Practices: El Salvador (U.S. Dept. of State)
Embassy of El Salvador, Washington
Fact Sheet: U.S. Relations With El Salvador (U.S. Dept. of State)
Human Rights in El Salvador (Amnesty International)
International Religious Freedom Reports: El Salvador (U.S. Dept. of State)
NATIONAL LIBRARY: Biblioteca Nacional de El Salvador
NEWS: BBC World News: Latin America & Caribbean
U.S. Embassy, San Salvador (U.S. Dept. of State)
World Factbook: El Salvador (U.S. Central Intelligence Agency)
World Food Programme: El Salvador
WWW-VL Latin American Studies: El Salvador (University of Texas, Austin)
Yahoo: El Salvador

Library of Congress

Guatemala

Constitution

Guatemala: Constitutions / Constituciones (Georgetown University Political Database of the Americas) includes the 1985 constitution with 1993 reforms; in Spanish
International Constitutional Law: Guatemala Index (Universität Bern Institut für Öffentliches Recht) background information only

Executive

Government

Judicial

Corte Suprema de Justicia
Organismo Judicial (Guatemala Judical Branch)

Legislative

OFFICIAL GAZETTE: Diario de Centro America / El Guatemalteco, Gaceta Oficial
PARLIAMENT: Congreso de la República
NATLEX: Guatemala (International Labour Organization) database of national laws on labor, social security and related human rights

Legal Guides

Global Legal Information Catalog: Guatemala (Law Library of Congress) provides bibliographic information on materials in our reference collection
Global Legal Monitor: Guatemala (Law Library of Congress)
Multinational Reference (Law Library of Congress)
ForIntLaw: Guatemala (Washburn University Law Library)
Update: Guide to Legal Research in Guatemala (GlobaLex)
World Legal Information Institute: Guatemala (WorldLII)
World Legal Materials from North America: Guatemala (Cornell Legal Information Institute)

General Sources

Handbook of Latin American Studies (Library of Congress)
Bureau of International Labor Affairs: ILAB in Guatemala(U.S. Dept. of Labor)
Chiefs of State and Cabinet Members of Foreign Governments: Guatemala (U.S. Central Intelligence Agency)
Consular Information Sheet: Guatemala (U.S. Dept. of State)
Country Information: Guatemala (U.S. Dept. of State)
Country Reports on Human Rights Practices: Guatemala (U.S. Dept. of State)
Embassy of Guatemala, Washington
Fact Sheet: U.S. Relations With Guatemala (U.S. Dept. of State)
Human Rights in Guatemala (Amnesty International)
International Religious Freedom Reports: Guatemala (U.S. Dept. of State)
NATIONAL LIBRARY: Biblioteca Nacional de Guatemala
NEWS: BBC World News: Latin America & Caribbean
U.S. Embassy, Guatemala City (U.S. Dept. of State)
World Factbook: Guatemala (U.S. Central Intelligence Agency)
World Food Programme: Guatemala
WWW-VL Latin American Studies: Guatemala (University of Texas, Austin)
Yahoo: Guatemala

For more information on Guatemala see:

Global Legal Monitor: Guatemala

Honduras

Constitution

Constituciones de Honduras
Honduras: Constitutions / Constituciones - Constitución de la República de Honduras (Georgetown University Political Database of the Americas) 1982 with 2005 reforms; in Spanish
International Constitutional Law: Honduras Index (Universität Bern Institut für Öffentliches Recht) background information only
Constitution Finder (University of Richmond T.C. Williams School of Law)

Executive

Honduras: Executive Institutions / Instituciones Ejecutivas (Georgetown University Political Database of the Americas)
Honduras official site
Poder Ejecutivo

Judicial

Poder Judicial de Honduras

Legislative

OFFICIAL GAZETTE: La Gaceta, diario oficial de la República de Honduras
PARLIAMENT: Congreso Nacional
Index of Documents from the Center (New York University Center for the Study of Central Banks) includes links to Indice de Precios al Consumidor, Ley del Banco Central de Honduras and Ley Monetaria
NATLEX: Honduras (International Labour Organization) database of national laws on labor, social security and related human rights

Legal Guides

Global Legal Information Catalog: Honduras (Law Library of Congress) provides bibliographic information on materials in our reference collection
Global Legal Monitor: Honduras (Law Library of Congress)
Multinational Reference (Law Library of Congress)
ForIntLaw: Honduras (Washburn University Law Library)
Judicial Assistance: Honduras (U.S. Dept. of State)
Update: Guide to Legal Research in Honduras (GlobaLex)
World Legal Information Institute: Honduras (WorldLII)
World Legal Materials from North America: Honduras (Cornell Legal Information Institute)

General Sources

Country Study: Honduras (Library of Congress) December 1993
Handbook of Latin American Studies (Library of Congress)
Places in the News: Honduras (Library of Congress)
Fact Sheet: U.S. Relations With Honduras (U.S. Dept. of State)
Chiefs of State and Cabinet Members of Foreign Governments: Honduras (U.S. Central Intelligence Agency)
Consular Information Sheet: Honduras (U.S. Dept. of State)
Country Information: Honduras (U.S. Dept. of State)
Country Reports on Human Rights Practices: Honduras (U.S. Dept. of State)
Embassy of Honduras, Washington
Human Rights in Honduras (Amnesty International)
International Religious Freedom Reports: Honduras (U.S. Dept. of State)
NATIONAL LIBRARY: Biblioteca Nacional de Honduras
NEWS: BBC World News: Latin America & Caribbean; BBC Spanish
U.S. Embassy, Tegucigalpa (U.S. Dept. of State)
World Factbook: Honduras (U.S. Central Intelligence Agency)
World Food Programme: Honduras (external link)
WWW-VL Latin American Studies: Honduras (University of Texas, Austin)
Yahoo: Honduras

For more information on Honduras see:

Global Legal Monitor: Honduras

Mexico

Constitution

Constitución publicada en el Diario Oficial de la Federación el 5 de febrero de 1917 (Cámara de Diputados del H. Congreso de la Unión) PDF in Spanish
Mexico: Constitutions / Constituciones (Georgetown University Political Database of the Americas) includes the 1917 constitution with 2010 reforms; in Spanish
Political Constitution of the Mexican United States (Instituto de Investigaciones Jurídicas de la UNAM) PDF, 2005, in English
International Constitutional Law: Mexico (Universität Bern Institut für Öffentliches Recht) background information only
Constitution Finder (University of Richmond T.C. Williams School of Law) in Spanish and English

Executive

Judicial

Legislative

OFFICIAL GAZETTE: Diario oficial de la federación, organo consitutcional del los Estados Unidos mexicanos
PARLIAMENT: Congreso de la Union, consisting of Cámara de Diputados and Cámara de Senadores
Legislación Federal de México (Cámara de Diputados del H. Congreso de la Unión) full text of more than 225 Mexican federal laws in HTML and PDF; in Spanish
NATLEX: Mexico (International Labour Organization) database of national laws on labor, social security and related human rights

Legal Guides

Children's Rights: Mexico (Law Library of Congress)
Firearms - Control Legislation and Policy: Mexico (Law Library of Congress)
Global Legal Information Catalog: Mexico (Law Library of Congress) provides bibliographic information on materials in our reference collection
Global Legal Monitor: Mexico (Law Library of Congress)
Guest Worker Programs: Mexico (Law Library of Congress)
Multinational Reference (Law Library of Congress)
Electronic Guide to the Best Mexican Law Websites (LLRX)
Federal Code of Mexico: Research Guide (LLRX)
ForIntLaw: Mexico (Washburn University Law Library)
Guide to Foreign and International Legal Databases Mexico (New York University Law Library)
Instituto de Investigaciones Jurídicas (Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México)
Judicial Assistance: Mexico (U.S. Dept. of State)
Latin American Network Information Center: Mexico (University of Texas, Austin)
Mexican Trademark and Copyright Law as it Applies to E-Commerce (LLRX)
Update: An Electronic Guide to Mexican Law (GlobaLex)
World Directory of Parliamentary Libraries: Mexico (Deutscher Bundestag)
World Legal Information Institute: Mexico (WorldLII)
World Legal Materials from North America: Mexico (Cornell Legal Information Institute)

General Sources

Country Study: Mexico (Library of Congress) June 1996
Handbook of Latin American Studies (Library of Congress)
Chiefs of State and Cabinet Members of Foreign Governments: Mexico (U.S. Central Intelligence Agency)
Consular Information Sheet: Mexico (U.S. Dept. of State)
Country Information: Mexico (U.S. Dept. of State)
Country Reports on Human Rights Practices: Mexico (U.S. Dept. of State)
The Economist: Mexico
Embassy of Mexico, Washington
Fact Sheet: U.S. Relations With Mexico (U.S. Dept. of State)
Human Rights in Mexico (Amnesty International)
International Religious Freedom Reports: Mexico (U.S. Dept. of State)
Mexico Online Site Map (MexOnline)
NATIONAL LIBRARY: Biblioteca Nacional de Mexico
NEWS: BBC World News: Latin America & Caribbean
Sistema de Búsqueda (Mexmaster)
U.S. Embassy, Mexico City (U.S. Dept. of State)
UCB Libraries GovPubs: Mexico (University of Colorado at Boulder)
World Factbook: Mexico (U.S. Central Intelligence Agency)
Yahoo: Mexico

For more information on Mexico see:

Nicaragua

Constitution

Nicaragua: Constitutions / Constituciones (Georgetown University Political Database of the Americas) includes the 1987 Constitution with 2005 reforms; in Spanish
International Constitutional Law: Nicaragua Index (Universität Bern Institut für Öffentliches Recht) background information only

Executive

Presidencia

Judicial

Corte Suprema de Justicia

Legislative

OFFICIAL GAZETTE: La Gaceta, diario oficial
PARLIAMENT: Asamblea Nacional
NATLEX: Nicaragua (International Labour Organization) database of national laws on labor, social security and related human rights

Legal Guides

Global Legal Information Catalog: Nicaragua (Law Library of Congress) provides bibliographic information on materials in our reference collection
Global Legal Monitor: Nicaragua (Law Library of Congress)
Multinational Reference (Law Library of Congress)
ForIntLaw: Nicaragua (Washburn University Law Library)
Update: Guide to Legal Research in Nicaragua (GlobaLex)
World Legal Information Institute: Nicaragua (WorldLII)
World Legal Materials from North America: Nicaragua (Cornell Legal Information Institute)

General Sources

Country Study: Nicaragua (Library of Congress) December 1993
Handbook of Latin American Studies (Library of Congress)
Chiefs of State and Cabinet Members of Foreign Governments: Nicaragua (U.S. Central Intelligence Agency)
Consular Information Sheet: Nicaragua (U.S. Dept. of State)
Country Information: Nicaragua (U.S. Dept. of State)
Country Reports on Human Rights Practices: Nicaragua (U.S. Dept. of State)
Fact Sheet: U.S. Relations With Nicaragua (U.S. Dept. of State)
Human Rights in Nicaragua (Amnesty International)
International Religious Freedom Reports: Nicaragua (U.S. Dept. of State)
NATIONAL LIBRARY: Biblioteca Nacional Ruben Dario
NEWS: BBC World News: Latin America & Caribbean
U.S. Embassy, Managua (U.S. Dept. of State)
World Factbook: Nicaragua (U.S. Central Intelligence Agency)
World Food Programme: Nicaragua
WWW-VL Latin American Studies: Nicaragua (University of Texas, Austin)
Yahoo: Nicaragua

For more information on Nicaragua see:

Global Legal Monitor: Nicaragua

Panáma

Constitution

Constitución Políticas (Panama Centro de Documentación Judicial)
Constitución Política de la República de Panamá (Panama Parliament)
Panama: Constitutions / Constituciones (Georgetown University Political Database of the Americas) Includes the 1972 Constitution with 2004 reforms; in Spanish
International Constitutional Law: Panama Index (Universität Bern Institut für Öffentliches Recht) background information only

Executive

Presidencia
Panama: Executive Institutions / Instituciones Ejecutivas (Georgetown University Political Database of the Americas)

Judicial

Legislative

OFFICIAL GAZETTE: Gaceta oficial; organo del estado
PARLIAMENT: Asamblea Legislativa
Legispan y Gaceta Oficial
NATLEX: Panama (International Labour Organization) database of national laws on labor, social security and related human rights
WIPO Lex: Panama IP Laws and Treaties (World Intellectual Property Organization)

Legal Guides

Global Legal Information Catalog: Panama (Law Library of Congress) provides bibliographic information on materials in our reference collection
Multinational Reference (Law Library of Congress)
ForIntLaw: Panama (Washburn University Law Library)
A Guide to Panama’s Legal System and Research (GlobaLex)
World Legal Information Institute: Panama (WorldLII)
World Legal Materials from North America: Panama (Cornell Legal Information Institute)

General Sources

Country Study: Panama (Library of Congress) December 1987
Handbook of Latin American Studies (Library of Congress)
Reference Guide to Panama Materials (Library of Congress) PDF
Chiefs of State and Cabinet Members of Foreign Governments: Panama (U.S. Central Intelligence Agency)
Consular Information Sheet: Panama (U.S. Dept. of State)
Country Information: Panama (U.S. Dept. of State)
Country Reports on Human Rights Practices: Panama (U.S. Dept. of State)
Fact Sheet: U.S. Relations With Panama (U.S. Dept. of State)
FAO Country Profiles: Panama (Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations)
A Guide to Recognition, Diplomatic, and Consular Relations: Panama (U.S. Dept. of State. Office of the Historian)
Human Rights in Panama (Amnesty International)
International Religious Freedom Reports: Panama (U.S. Dept. of State)
Latin American Network Information Center: Panama (University of Texas, Austin)
NATIONAL LIBRARY: Biblioteca Nacional de Panamá
NEWS: BBC World News: Latin America & Caribbean
U.S. Embassy, Panama (U.S. Dept. of State)
World Factbook: Panama (U.S. Central Intelligence Agency)
Yahoo: Panama