LibGuides: International Human Rights by Siomara Umaña: South America

Argentina

Constitution

Constituciones (Georgetown University, Political Database of the Americas) includes the Constitución de 1994 in English and Spanish
Constitución de la Nación Argentina (Argentina Senate) in Spanish and English
International Constitutional Law: Argentina (Universität Bern Institut für Öffentliches Recht) offers English translation and Background Note
Constitution Finder (University of Richmond T.C. Williams School of Law)

Executive

Presidencia

Judicial

Legislative

OFFICIAL GAZETTE: Boletín Oficial de la República Argentina (Dirección Nacional del Registro Oficial)
PARLIAMENT: Senado and Camara de Diputados
NATLEX: Argentina (International Labour Organization) database of national laws on labor, social security and related human rights
WIPO Lex: Argentina (World Intellectual Property Organization)

Legal Guides

Global Legal Information Catalog: Argentina (Law Library of Congress) provides bibliographic information on materials in our reference collection
Children's Rights: Argentina (Law Library of Congress)
Global Legal Monitor: Argentina (Law Library of Congress)
Multinational Reference (Law Library of Congress)
Translation of National Legislation into English: Argentina (Law Library of Congress) PDF
ForIntLaw: Argentina (Washburn University School of Law Library)
Guide to Foreign and International Legal Databases: Argentina (New York University Law Library)
Update: A Research Guide to the Argentine Legal System (GlobaLex)
World Legal Information Institute: Argentina (WorldLII)
World Legal Materials from South America: Argentina (Cornell Legal Information Institute)

General Sources

Handbook of Latin American Studies (Library of Congress)
World Digital Library: Argentina (Library of Congress/UNESCO)
Chiefs of State and Cabinet Members of Foreign Governments: Argentina (U.S. Central Intelligence Agency)
Consular Information Sheet: Argentina (U.S. Dept. of State)
Country Information: Argentina (U.S. Dept. of State)
Country Reports on Human Rights Practices: Argentina (U.S. Dept. of State)
Economist Topics: Argentina (The Economist)
Embassy of Argentina, Washington
Fact Sheet: U.S. Relations With Argentina (U.S. Dept. of State)
Human Rights in Argentina (Amnesty International)
International Religious Freedom Reports: Argentina (U.S. Dept. of State)
Latin American Network Information Center: Argentina (University of Texas, Austin)
NATIONAL LIBRARY: Biblioteca Nacional de la República Argentina
NEWS: BBC Spanish; BBC World: Latin America
U.S. Embassy, Buenos Aires (U.S. Dept. of State)
World Bank: Argentina
World Factbook: Argentina (U.S. Central Intelligence Agency) - see also South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands
World Health Organization: Argentina
Yahoo: Argentina

For more information on Argentina see:

Brazil

Constitution

Constituição da República Federativa do Brasil (Brazil. Senate) in Portuguese
Brazil: Constitutions / Constituciones (Georgetown University Political Database of the Americas) includes the current and historic editions in Portuguese; with an older edition (1988 with 1996 reforms) in English
International Constitutional Law: Brazil (Universität Bern Institut für Öffentliches Recht) includes Constitution and updates in English and Background Note
Constitution Finder (University of Richmond T.C. Williams School of Law)

Executive

Judicial

COURTS: Supremo Tribunal Federal [Supreme Constitutional Court]; Superior Tribunal de Justiça [Superior Court of Justice]
Ministry of Justice
Jurisprudência Online (CD-Graf Publicações Eletrônicas Ltda) in Portuguese; offers links to Brazilian federal court system and decisions, including Direct Actions on Unconstitutionality ("ADINs")

Legislative

OFFICIAL GAZETTE: Diário Oficial
PARLIAMENT: Câmara dos Deputados [Chamber of Deputies] and Senado Federal [Federal Senate]
Legislação Federal Brasileira (Brazil. Senado Federal) provides full-text access to the Constitution, federal Codes and major laws
LexLM Brazil: Legislative and Legal Information Portal a product of the Projecto LexML Brasil
NATLEX: Brazil (International Labour Organization) database of national laws on labor, social security and related human rights

Legal Guides

Children's Rights: Brazil (Law Library of Congress)
Crimes Against Humanity (Law Library of Congress) includes Brazil
Firearms - Control Legislation and Policy: Brazil (Law Library of Congress)
Global Legal Information Catalog: Brazil (Law Library of Congress) provides bibliographic information on materials in our reference collection
Global Legal Monitor: Brazil (Law Library of Congress)
Guest Worker Programs: Brazil (Law Library of Congress)
Legal Research Guide: Brazil (Law Library of Congress)
Legal Research Guide: Brazil – The Executive Branch (Law Library of Congress)
Legal Research Guide: Brazil – The Judicial Branch (Law Library of Congress)
Legal Research Guide: Brazil – The Legislative Branch (Law Library of Congress)
The Legal System of Brazil (Law Library of Congress)
Multinational Reference (Law Library of Congress)
ForIntLaw: Brazil (Washburn University Law Library)
Guide to Foreign and International Legal Databases: Brazil (New York University Law Library)
Judicial Assistance: Brazil (U.S. Dept. of State)
Update: Doing Legal Research in Brazil (GlobaLex)
World Legal Information Institute: Brazil (WorldLII)
World Legal Materials from South America: Brazil (Cornell Legal Information Institute)

General Sources

Country Study: Brazil (Library of Congress) April 1997
Handbook of Latin American Studies (Library of Congress)
United States and Brazil: Expanding Frontiers, Comparing Cultures (Library of Congress / Brazil Biblioteca Nacional)
Chiefs of State and Cabinet Members of Foreign Governments: Brazil (U.S. Central Intelligence Agency)
Consular Information Sheet: Brazil (U.S. Dept. of State)
Country Information: Brazil (U.S. Dept. of State)
Country Reports on Human Rights Practices: Brazil (U.S. Dept. of State)
Economist: Brazil (The Economist)
Embassy of Brazil, Washington
Fact Sheet: U.S. Relations With Brazil (U.S. Dept. of State)
Human Rights in Brazil (Amnesty International)
International Labor Affairs in Brazil (U.S. Dept. of Labor)
International Religious Freedom Reports: Brazil (U.S. Dept. of State)
Latin American Studies: Brazil (University of Texas, Austin)
NATIONAL LIBRARY: Biblioteca Nacional
NEWS: BBC World News: Latin America & Caribbean; BBC Portuguese
U.S. Embassy, Brasilia (U.S. Dept. of State)
World Factbook: Brazil (U.S. Central Intelligence Agency)
World Health Organization: Brazil
Yahoo: Brazil

For more information on Brazil, see:

Bolivia

Constitution

Bolivia: Constitutions / Constituciones (Georgetown University Political Database of the Americas) includes the 2009, 1994, and 1967 Constitution; in Spanish
International Constitutional Law: Bolivia Index (Universität Bern Institut für Öffentliches Recht) background information only
Constitution Finder (University of Richmond T.C. Williams School of Law)

Executive

Presidente
Vicepresidencia
Ministerio de Información Gubernamental; includes selected laws in Spanish

Judicial

Legislative

OFFICIAL GAZETTE: Gaceta Oficial de Bolivia
PARLIAMENT: Congreso Nacional [National Congress] composed of Cámara de Senadores and Cámara de Diputados
Leyes (Bolivia. National Congress)
NATLEX: Bolivia (International Labour Organization) database of national laws on labor, social security and related human rights

Legal Guides

Global Legal Information Catalog: Bolivia (Law Library of Congress) provides bibliographic information on materials in our reference collection
Global Legal Monitor: Bolivia (Law Library of Congress)
Multinational Reference (Law Library of Congress)
The Bolivian Legal System and Legal Research (Mauricio Ipiña Nagel; GlobLex)
ForIntLaw: Bolivia (Washburn University Law Library)
World Legal Information Institute: Bolivia (WorldLII)
World Legal Materials from South America: Bolivia (Cornell Legal Information Institute)

General Sources

Country Profile: Bolivia (Library of Congress) January 2006; (PDF)
Country Study: Bolivia (Library of Congress) December 1989
Handbook of Latin American Studies (Library of Congress)
Chiefs of State and Cabinet Members of Foreign Governments: Bolivia (U.S. Central Intelligence Agency)
Consular Information Sheet: Bolivia (U.S. Dept. of State)
Country Information: Bolivia (U.S. Dept. of State)
Country Reports on Human Rights Practices: Bolivia (U.S. Dept. of State)
Fact Sheet: U.S. Relations With Bolivia (U.S. Dept. of State)
Human Rights in Bolivia (Amnesty International)
International Religious Freedom Reports: Bolivia (U.S. Dept. of State)
Latin American Studies: Bolivia (University of Texas, Austin)
NATIONAL LIBRARY: Biblioteca y Archivo Nacional de Bolivia
NEWS: BBC World News: Latin America & Caribbean; BBC News Spanish
U.S. Embassy, La Paz (external link) (U.S. Dept. of State)
World Factbook: Bolivia (U.S. Central Intelligence Agency)
World Food Programme: Bolivia
World Health Organization: Bolivia
Yahoo: Bolivia

For more information on Bolivia see:

Global Legal Monitor: Bolivia

Chile

Constitution

Constitución Política (Biblioteca del Congreso Nacional de Chile) in Spanish
Chile: Constitutions / Constituciones (Georgetown University Political Database of the Americas) includes copies of the 1980 constitution, with reforms through 2010, 2005, and 1989); in Spanish
Constitution Finder (University of Richmond T.C. Williams School of Law)
International Constitutional Law: Chile Index (Universität Bern Institut für Öffentliches Recht) background information only

Executive

Judicial

Poder Judicial

Legislative

OFFICIAL GAZETTE: Diario Oficial de la República de Chile
PARLIAMENT: Congreso Nacional; composed of Senado de la República and Cámara de Diputados
BCN Ley Chile (Biblioteca del Congreso Nacional de Chile) includes laws, constitutions, international agreements, regulations, a search option and links to other government sites
NATLEX: Chile (International Labour Organization) database of national laws on labor, social security and related human rights

Legal Guides

Global Legal Information Catalog: Chile (Law Library of Congress) provides bibliographic information on materials in our reference collection
Global Legal Monitor: Chile (Law Library of Congress)
Multinational Reference (Law Library of Congress)
ForIntLaw: Chile (Washburn University Law Library)
Guide to Foreign and International Legal Databases - Chile (New York University Law Library)
Update: Essential Issues of the Chilean Legal System (GlobaLex)
World Legal Information Institute: Chile(WorldLII)
World Legal Materials from South America: Chile (Cornell Legal Information Institute)

General Sources

Country Study: Chile (Library of Congress) March 1994
Handbook of Latin American Studies (Library of Congress)
Places in the News: Chile (Library of Congress)
Fact Sheet: U.S. Relations With Chile (U.S. Dept. of State)
Chiefs of State and Cabinet Members of Foreign Governments: Chile (U.S. Central Intelligence Agency)
Consular Information Sheet: Chile (U.S. Dept. of State)
Country Information: Chile (U.S. Dept. of State)
Country Reports on Human Rights Practices: Chile (U.S. Dept. of State)
Economic Briefing: Chile (The Economist)
Embassy of Chile, Washington
Human Rights in Chile (Amnesty International)
International Religious Freedom Reports: Chile (U.S. Dept. of State)
NATIONAL LIBRARY: Biblioteca Nacional de Chile
NEWS: BBC World News: Latin America & Caribbean
U.S. Embassy, Santiago (U.S. Dept. of State)
World Factbook: Chile (U.S. Central Intelligence Agency)
WWW-VL Latin American Studies: Chile (University of Texas, Austin)
Yahoo: Chile

For more information on Chile see:

Global Legal Monitor: Chile

Library of Congress

Colombia

Constitution

Colombia: Constituciones / Constitutions (Georgetown University Political Database of the Americas) Constitución de 1991 con reformas hasta 2009 / Political Constitution of 1991 through 2009 reforms; in Spanish
Constitución Política de Colombia (Presidente de la República de Colombia) in Spanish (PDF)
Text of the Constitution of Colombia (Presidente de la República de Colombia) in Spanish (PDF)
International Constitutional Law: Colombia (Universität Bern Institut für Öffentliches Recht) background information only

Executive

Presidente de la República de Colombia

Judicial

COURTS: Corte Suprema de Justical

Legislative

OFFICIAL GAZETTE: Diario Oficial
PARLIAMENT: Camera de Representantes and Senado
Government Trade Bureau (Colombian Government Trade Bureau) sponsored by the Embassy of Colombia in Washington, DC; provides information in English about the economics and commercial laws of Colombia
Derecho de las Comunicaciones en Colombia (www.arkhais.com) includes telecommunication law in Spanish
NATLEX: Colombia (International Labour Organization) database of national laws on labor, social security and related human rights

Legal Guides

Global Legal Information Catalog: Colombia (Law Library of Congress) provides bibliographic information on materials in our reference collection
Multinational Reference (Law Library of Congress)
ForIntLaw: Colombia (Washburn University Law Library)
Guide to Foreign and International Legal Databases - Colombia (New York University Law Library)
Update: An Introduction to Colombian Governmental Institutions and Primary Legal Sources (GlobaLex)
World Legal Information Institute: Colombia (WorldLII)
World Legal Materials from South America: Colombia (Cornell Legal Information Institute)

General Sources

Country Profile: Colombia (Library of Congress) February 2007; PDF
Country Study: Colombia (Library of Congress) December 1988
Handbook of Latin American Studies (Library of Congress)
Places in the News: Colombia (Library of Congress)
Bureau of International Labor Affairs: ILAB in Colombia (U.S. Dept. of Labor)
Chiefs of State and Cabinet Members of Foreign Governments: Colombia (U.S. Central Intelligence Agency)
Consular Information Sheet: Colombia (U.S. Dept. of State)
Country Information: Colombia (U.S. Dept. of State)
Country Reports on Human Rights Practices: Colombia (U.S. Dept. of State)
The Economist: Colombia
Embassy of Colombia, Washington
Fact Sheet: U.S. Relations with Colombia (U.S. Dept. of State)
Human Rights in Colombia (Amnesty International)
International Religious Freedom Reports: Colombia (U.S. Dept. of State)
LANIC: Colombia (University of Texas, Austin)
NATIONAL LIBRARY: Biblioteca Nacional de Colombia
NEWS: BBC World News: Latin America & Caribbean
U.S. Embassy , Bogota (U.S. Dept. of State)
World Factbook: Colombia (U.S. Central Intelligence Agency)
World Food Programme: Colombia
Yahoo: Colombia

Ecuador

Constitution

Ecuador: Constitutions / Constituciones (Georgetown University Political Database of the Americas) includes the 1998 and 1830 constituions; in Spanish
International Constitutional Law: Ecuador (Universität Bern Institut für Öffentliches Recht) background information only

Executive

Ecuador: Cabinet / Gabinete (Georgetown University Political Database of the Americas)

Judicial

Legislative

OFFICIAL GAZETTE: Registro Oficial
PARLIAMENT: Congreso Nacional del Ecuador
Codificación de Regulaciones de la Junta Monetaria (Banco Central del Ecuador) banking regulations; in Spanish
NATLEX: Ecuador (International Labour Organization) database of national laws on labor, social security and related human rights

Legal Guides

Global Legal Information Catalog: Ecuador (Law Library of Congress) provides bibliographic information on materials in our reference collection
Global Legal Monitor: Ecuador (Law Library of Congress)
Multinational Reference (Law Library of Congress)
ForIntLaw: Ecuador (Washburn University Law Library)
Update: The Basic Structure of the Ecuadorian Legal System and Legal Research (GlobaLex)
World Legal Information Institute: Ecuador (WorldLII)
World Legal Materials from South America: Ecuador (Cornell Legal Information Institute)

General Sources

Country Study: Ecuador (Library of Congress) 1989
Handbook of Latin American Studies (Library of Congress)
Chiefs of State and Cabinet Members of Foreign Governments: Ecuador (U.S. Central Intelligence Agency)
Consular Information Sheet: Ecuador (U.S. Dept. of State)
Country Information: Ecuador (U.S. Dept. of State)
Country Reports on Human Rights Practices: Ecuador (U.S. Dept. of State)
Economic Briefing: Ecuador (The Economist)
Embassy of Ecuador, Washington
Fact Sheet: U.S. Relations With Ecuador (U.S. Dept. of State)
Human Rights in Ecuador (Amnesty International)
International Religious Freedom Reports: Ecuador (U.S. Dept. of State)
NATIONAL LIBRARY: Biblioteca Nacional del Ecuador
NEWS: BBC World News: Latin America & Caribbean
U.S. Embassy, Quito (U.S. Dept. of State)
World Factbook: Ecuador (U.S. Central Intelligence Agency)
World Food Programme: Ecuador
WWW-VL Latin American Studies: Ecuador (University of Texas, Austin)
Yahoo: Ecuador

For more information on Ecuador see:

Global Legal Monitor: Ecuador

Guyana

Constitution

Guyana: Constitutions / Constituciones (Georgetown University Political Database of the Americas) in English

Executive

Government Information Agency
President; Prime Minister; Council of Ministers; see Guyana: National Executive Branch / Poder Ejecutivo Nacional(Georgetown University Political Database of the Americas)
Government

Judicial

COURTS: Supreme Court of Judicature

Legislative

PARLIAMENT: National Assembly
Laws of Guyana (Government Information Agency) in PDF
NATLEX: Guyana (International Labour Organization) database of national laws on labor, social security and related human rights

Legal Guides

Global Legal Information Catalog: Guyana (Law Library of Congress) provides bibliographic information on materials in our reference collection
Multinational Reference (Law Library of Congress)
ForIntLaw: Guyana (Washburn University Law Library)
Guide to Caribbean Law Research (GlobaLex)
World Legal Information Institute: Guyana (WorldLII)
World Legal Materials from South America: Guyana (Cornell Legal Information Institute)

General Sources

Country Study: Guyana (Library of Congress) January 1992
Handbook of Latin American Studies (Library of Congress)
Chiefs of State and Cabinet Members of Foreign Governments: Guyana, Cooperative Republic of (U.S. Central Intelligence Agency)
Consular Information Sheet: Guyana (U.S. Dept. of State)
Country Information: Guyana (U.S. Dept. of State)
Country Reports on Human Rights Practices: Guyana (U.S. Dept. of State)
Fact Sheet: U.S. Relations With Guyana (U.S. Dept. of State)
Human Rights in Guyana (Amnesty International)
International Religious Freedom Reports: Guyana (U.S. Dept. of State)
NATIONAL LIBRARY: National Library of Guyana
NEWS: BBC World News: Latin America & Caribbean
U.S. Embassy, Georgetown
World Factbook: Guyana (U.S. Central Intelligence Agency)
WWW-VL Latin American Studies: Guyana (University of Texas, Austin)
Yahoo: Guyana

Suriname

Constitution

Constitution of Suriname, 1987, with 1992 Reforms (Georgetown University Political Database of the Americas) in English

Executive

President; Vice President; Cabinet of Ministers; see Suriname: Cabinet (Georgetown University Political Database of the Americas)
Government

Judicial

COURTS: Supreme Court

Legislative

PARLIAMENT: Nationale Assemblée
GAZETTE: Staatsblad van de Republiek Suriname
NATLEX: Suriname (International Labour Organization) database of national laws on labor, social security and related human rights

Legal Guides

Global Legal Information Catalog: Suriname (Law Library of Congress) provides bibliographic information on materials in our reference collection
Multinational Reference (Law Library of Congress)
ForIntLaw: Suriname (Washburn University Law Library)
World Legal Information Institute: Suriname (WorldLII)
World Legal Materials from South America: Suriname (Cornell Legal Information Institute)

General Sources

Handbook of Latin American Studies (Library of Congress)
Fact Sheet: U.S. Relations With Suriname (U.S. Dept. of State)
Chiefs of State and Cabinet Members of Foreign Governments: Suriname (U.S. Central Intelligence Agency)
Consular Information Sheet: Suriname (U.S. Dept. of State)
Country Information: Suriname (U.S. Dept. of State)
Country Reports on Human Rights Practices: Suriname (U.S. Dept. of State)
Human Rights in Suriname (Amnesty International)
International Religious Freedom Reports: Suriname(U.S. Dept. of State)
NEWS: BBC World News: Latin America & Caribbean
Permanent Mission of the Republic of Suriname to the United Nations
U.S. Embassy, Paramaribo (U.S. Dept. of State)
World Factbook: Suriname (U.S. Central Intelligence Agency)
WWW-VL Latin American Studies: Suriname (University of Texas, Austin)
Yahoo: Suriname

Paraguay

Constitution

Paraguay: Constitutions / Constituciones (Georgetown University Political Database of the Americas) Includes the 1967 and 1992 constitutions; in Spanish
International Constitutional Law: Paraguay Index (Universität Bern Institut für Öffentliches Recht) offers English translation of the current constitution plus Background Note, a key number system to locate parts, and links to comparative information

Executive

Presidencia
Paraguay: Executive Institutions / Instituciones Ejecutivas (Georgetown University Political Database of the Americas)

Judicial

Poder Judicial
Corte Suprema de Justicia
Consejo de la Magistratura

Legislative

OFFICIAL GAZETTE: Registro oficial de la República del Paraguay
PARLIAMENT: National Congress, consisting of Cámara de Senadores and Cámara de Diputados
NATLEX: Paraguay (International Labour Organization) database of national laws on labor, social security and related human rights

Legal Guides

Global Legal Information Catalog: Paraguay (Law Library of Congress) provides bibliographic information on materials in our reference collection
Multinational Reference (Law Library of Congress)
ForIntLaw: Paraguay (Washburn University Law Library)
Update: A Guide to the Legal System and Legal Research in Paraguay (GlobaLex)
World Legal Information Institute: Paraguay (WorldLII)
World Legal Materials from South America: Paraguay (Cornell Legal Information Institute)

General Sources

Country Study: Paraguay (Library of Congress) December 1988
Handbook of Latin American Studies (Library of Congress)
Chiefs of State and Cabinet Members of Foreign Governments: Paraguay (U.S. Central Intelligence Agency)
Consular Information Sheet: Paraguay (U.S. Dept. of State)
Country Information: Paraguay (U.S. Dept. of State)
Country Reports on Human Rights Practices: Paraguay (U.S. Dept. of State)
Fact Sheet: U.S. Relations With Paraguay (U.S. Dept. of State)
Human Rights in Paraguay (Amnesty International)
International Religious Freedom Reports: Paraguay (U.S. Dept. of State)
NATIONAL LIBRARY: Biblioteca y Archivo Nacional
NEWS: BBC World News: Latin America & Caribbean
U.S. Embassy, Paraguay (U.S. Dept. of State)
World Factbook: Paraguay (U.S. Central Intelligence Agency)
WWW-VL Latin American Studies: Paraguay (University of Texas, Austin)
Yahoo: Paraguay

Peru

Constitution

Perú: Constitución / Constitution (Georgetown University Political Database of the Americas) in Spanish
International Constitutional Law: Peru (Universität Bern Institut für Öffentliches Recht) background information only

Executive

Presidencia
Ministerio de Relaciones Exteriores del Peru (Ministry of Foreign Affairs)
Peru: Executive Institutions / Instituciones ejecutivas (Georgetown University Political Database of the Americas)

Judicial

Poder Judicial de la Republica del Peru
Ministerio de Justicia del Peru
SPIJ: Sistema Peruviana de Informacion Juridica offers information in Spanish on an extensive collections of Peruvian legal materials for sale. Sponsored by Peru's Ministry of Justice in cooperation with the Programa Nacional de Informá y Comunicaciones and the United Nations Development Program

Legislative

OFFICIAL GAZETTE: El Peruano, Diario Oficial
PARLIAMENT: Congreso de la República del Perú
Archivo Digital de la Legislación del Perú
NATLEX: Peru (International Labour Organization) database of national laws on labor, social security and related human rights

Legal Guides

Global Legal Information Catalog: Peru (Law Library of Congress) provides bibliographic information on materials in our reference collection
Global Legal Monitor: Peru (Law Library of Congress)
Multinational Reference (Law Library of Congress)
ForIntLaw: Peru (Washburn University Law Library)
Guide to Foreign and International Legal Databases: Peru (New York University Law Library)
Update: Essential Issues of the Peruvian Legal System (GlobaLex)
World Legal Information Institute: Peru (WorldLII)
World Legal Materials from South America: Peru (Cornell Legal Information Institute)

General Sources

Country Study: Peru (Library of Congress) September 1992
Handbook of Latin American Studies (Library of Congress)
Places in the News: Peru (Library of Congress)
Fact Sheet: U.S. Relations With Peru (U.S. Dept. of State)
Chiefs of State and Cabinet Members of Foreign Governments: Peru (U.S. Central Intelligence Agency)
Consular Information Sheet: Peru (U.S. Dept. of State)
Country Information: Peru (U.S. Dept. of State)
Country Reports on Human Rights Practices: Peru (U.S. Dept. of State)
Economic Briefing: Peru (The Economist)
Embassy of Peru, Washington
Human Rights in Peru (Amnesty International)
International Religious Freedom Reports: Peru (U.S. Dept. of State)
NATIONAL LIBRARY: Biblioteca Nacional del Perú
NEWS: BBC World News: Latin America & Caribbean
U.S. Embassy, Lima (U.S. Dept. of State)
World Factbook: Peru (U.S. Central Intelligence Agency)
World Food Programme: Peru
WWW-VL Latin American Studies: Peru (University of Texas, Austin)
Yahoo: Peru

For more information on Peru see:

Global Legal Monitor: Peru

Uruguay

Constitution

Constituciones (Uruguay. Podor Legislativo) includes 1934 to the present; in Spanish
Uruguay: Constitutions / Constituciones (Georgetown University Political Database of the Americas) in Spanish

Executive

Presidencia de la Republica
Ministerio de Relaciones Exteriores
Uruguay: Executive Institutions / Instituciones Executiva (Georgetown University Political Database of the Americas)

Judicial

Suprema Corte de Justicia

Legislative

PARLIAMENT: Poder Legislativo - Camara de Representantes and Poder Legislativo - Senadores (both in Spanish) - Offers access to the Constitution and a virtually all current national laws, plus major regulatory texts. These instruments and essays may be reached through:
- Legislacion (in Spanish) Offers present and most recent Constitutions (i.e., of 1967 and 1952), plus a comparative study. Provides copies of all of Uruguay's law codes, including its aviation, civil, commercial, customs, minerals, penal, tax, water codes; Code of Minors; and General Code of Procedure. Several major regulatory decrees, including those on administrative procedure, Social Security, taxation, and accounting standards, are also included.
Banco de Prevision Sociale [Social Security Bank]
NATLEX: Uruguay (International Labour Organization) database of national laws on labor, social security and related human rights

Legal Guides

Global Legal Information Catalog: Uruguay (Law Library of Congress) provides bibliographic information on materials in our reference collection
Multinational Reference (Law Library of Congress)
ForIntLaw: Uruguay (Washburn University Law Library)
Guide to Foreign and International Legal Databases: Uruguay (New York University Law Library)
Update: A Guide to Uruguay’s Legal System and Research (GlobaLex)
World Legal Materials from South America: Uruguay (Cornell Legal Information Institute)

General Sources

Country Study: Uruguay (Library of Congress) December 1990
Handbook of Latin American Studies (Library of Congress)
Fact Sheet: U.S. Relations With Uruguay (U.S. Dept. of State)
Chiefs of State and Cabinet Members of Foreign Governments: Uruguay (U.S. Central Intelligence Agency)
Consular Information Sheet: Uruguay (U.S. Dept. of State)
Country Information: Uruguay (U.S. Dept. of State)
Country Reports on Human Rights Practices: Uruguay (U.S. Dept. of State)
Embassy of Uruguay, Washington
Human Rights in Uruguay (Amnesty International)
International Religious Freedom Reports: Uruguay (U.S. Dept. of State)
NEWS: BBC News: Latin America & Caribbean
U.S. Embassy, Montevido (U.S. Dept. of State)
World Factbook: Uruguay (U.S. Central Intelligence Agency)
WWW-VL Latin American Studies: Uruguay (University of Texas, Austin)
Yahoo: Uruguay

Venezuela

Constitution

Constitution of the Republic of Venezuela (Venezuela Embassy)
Venezuela: Constitutions / Constituciones (Georgetown University Political Database of the Americas) in Spanish
International Constitutional Law: Venezuela Index (Universität Bern Institut für Öffentliches Recht) background information only

Executive

Presidencia
Venezuela: Executive Institutions / Instituciones Ejecutivas (Georgetown University Political Database of the Americas)

Judicial

Tribunal Supremo de Justicia

Legislative

OFFICIAL GAZETTE: Gaceta oficial de la República de Venezuela
PARLIAMENT: Asamblea Nacional consisting of the Senado and Camara de Diputados
NATLEX: Venezuela (International Labour Organization) database of national laws on labor, social security and related human rights

Legal Guides