Modern Gaming Law: Sports Wagering Research Guide

463.021. Creation; Composition; Terms; Meetings; Recommendations Advisory and Not Binding; Review Panel Committee to Consider Certain appeals; Advisory Committee on Gaming Education; Appointment of Members, Terms and Duties of Chapter 463. Licensing and Control of Gaming in West's Nevada Revised Statutes Annotated promulgates the laws which give the Commission, Board, State Senate, State Assembly, and State Tribal Commission the ability to have one representative member appointed by the Governor of Nevada to help study gaming law and ensure laws are up to date for public policy reasons.

Chapter 463. Licensing and Control of Gaming, Sections 022-029. Nevada Gaming Commission of West's Nevada Revised Statutes Annotated created the Nevada Gaming Commission and provides its pertinent duties. The following link includes: 463.022. Creation; Number of Members; 463. 023. Members: Qualifications and Eligibility; 463.024. Members: Appointment; Chair; Terms; Removal; 463.025. Members: Discharge of Duties; Certain political Activities Prohibited; Oaths; 463.026. Members: Salaries; 463.027. Board to furnish Administrative and Clerical Services and Equipment to Commission; Administrative Costs; 463.028. Offices; and 463.029. Meetings; Quorum. Similar to the State of New Jersey's administrative bodies of gaming law, the State of Nevada has two governing bodies as well. Further, the Gaming Commission acts similarly to the Division of Gaming Enforcement and the Gaming Control Board acts similarly to the Casino Control Commission.

Chapter 463. Licensing and Control of Gaming in West's Nevada Revised Statutes Annotated promulgates the laws which created the Nevada Gaming Control Board. The following link includes: 463.030. Creation; Number of Members; 463.040. Members: Qualifications and Eligibility; 463.050. Members: Appointment; Terms; Chair and Executive Director; Removal; 463.060. Members: Other Employment and Certain Political Activities and Financial Interests Prohibited; Oaths; 463.070. Members: Compensation; 463.080. Organization; Administrative Expenses; Employees; Plan Concerning Employees; 463.085. Executive Secretary: Appointment; Removal; Duties; Other Employment Prohibited; Salary; 463.095. Employment of Consultants; 463.100. Offices; and 463.110. Meetings; Quorum; Investigative Hearings. Similar to New Jersey's administrative bodies, Nevada's Gaming Control Board acts as the special court to its licensed organizations.

463.140. General Powers and Duties of Board and Commission of Chapter 463. Licensing and Control of Gaming promulgates the laws which set forth the duties of both the Commission and Board. As previously mentioned, the Commission and the Board in the State of Nevada act in a similar capacity to the Casino Control Commission and the Division of Gaming Enforcement in the State of New Jersey.

§ 2704. National Indian Gaming Commission of the United States Code Annotated promulgates the laws which established the National Indian Gaming Commission. § 2704 provides the Commission shall be composed of three full-time members (Chairman and two associate members) who will subject to a background investigation by the Attorney General. Further, the statute provides the members of the Commission must be members of any Indian tribe and will be from separate political parties.

§ 2705. Powers of Chairman of the United States annotated code promulgates the laws which allow the Chairman of the Commission to issue temporary closures to licensed organizations, levy civil fines, approve ordinances, and approve management contract. Further, under § 2705. the Chairman will have any other powers delegated by the Commission.

§ 2706. Powers of Commission of the United States Code Annotated promulgates the laws which the Commission will be subject to.The statute provides the Commission will be in charge of aspects of Indian Gaming such as, budget approval, civil fines, subpoenas, monitoring,investigations, contracts, and regulations.

Article 2. Casino Control Commission and Division of Gaming Enforcement: Establishment and Organization of Chapter 12. Casino Control Act in the New Jersey Statutes & Court Rules, promulgates the laws that created the Casino Control Commission and the Division of Gaming Enforcement, which are the two administrative bodies that oversee all gaming operations in the State of New Jersey. The following link includes: 5:12-50. Creation of Casino Control Commission; Number of Members; 5:12-51. Members of the Commission; Qualifications and Eligibility; 5:12-52. Appointment and Terms of Commission Members; 5:12-53. Compensation of Members; 5:12-54. Organization and Employees; 5:12-54. Campaign Contributions Prohibited for Certain commission Members and Employees; 5:12-55. Division of Gaming Enforcement; 5:12-56. Organization and Employees; and 5:12-57. Expenses; Limits.

5:12-63. Duties of the Commission of the New Jersey Statutes Annotated promulgates the powers which the Casino Control Commission have over the licensed organization it oversees. Under 5:12-63, the Commission acts similarly to a special court where it is tasked with the duty to hear and decide aspects of gaming law such as, license approvals and appeals from violations.

5:12-76. General Duties and Powers of Chapter 12. Casino Control Act in New Jersey Statutes Annotated promulgates the laws which give the Division of Gaming Enforcement the power to act similarly to an internal police to the New Jersey gaming industry. The way the current law is written, the Division of Gaming Enforcement is tasked with overseeing the day-to-day activities of licensed organizations, prosecute any infractions, and defends appeals while the Casino Control Commission acts similarly to a special court.

§ 17. Lotteries and other gambling, of West's Delaware Code Annotated. The following link provides the statute, which created the State of Delaware's lottery system.

§ 4805 of Chapter 48. Lotteries in West's Delaware Code Annotated. The following statute created the position of the Director, which is a position created by the Delaware lottery to oversee games the State of Delaware offers and maximizes the net revenue derived from the games for the State.

§ 4815. State Lottery Fund of West's Delaware Code Annotated is proposed legislation (effective July 1, 2019). The following link provides information on the proposed State Lottery Fund, which will be accounted for by the State Treasurer in an account known as the State Lottery Fund. Further, the proposed legislation provides that the Director will ensure that 30% of the total revenue will be collected by the State and the position of the Director will be overseen by the State Secretary of Finance.

§ 4820. of West's Delaware Code Annotated. The following link provides the powers the State Lottery will have in administering and owning both video lottery and sports lottery machines. Further, it provides that any licensed organization will be leased machines upon submission of a proposed plan for the lease to the Director, provided that no more than 2,500 machines shall be located within the confines of a racetrack property, unless the Director advises otherwise.