LibGuides: U Nonimmigrant Visa Application by Alexa Rodriguez: Pleading(s) and Practitioner Manuals

Immigration Pleading and Practitioner Manual

Immigration Pleading and Practice Manual, 2013-2014 ed. by Thomas Hutchins
This publication contains expertly drafted motions, notices, and applications most often required in judicial and administrative federal immigration practice. Each sample filing includes the authors' supporting legal memorandum. Editable electronic copies of the motions and memoranda are available on the included CD-ROM. The print volume also includes "Practitioners' Notes," which explain the legal principles and the practical considerations applicable to the use of the particular motion, annotated directories of statutes, regulations, agency memoranda, and relevant agency and judicial decisions, and references to related treatises and other publications.

Sample of the Book Listed Below in Westlaw.

§ 6:75. Immigration court procedures

Immigration Trial Handbook IMTRIAL § 6:75

Where a noncitizen is in proceedings and appears to qualify for a U nonimmigrant visa or is a spouse, child, parent, or unmarried sibling of a noncitizen who has applied for a U visa, ICE assistant chief counsel can agree to a joint motion to terminate or administratively close removal proceedings or to a motion for a continuance in order to allow...

...See 8 C.F.R. § 214.14(c)(1); Lee v. Holder, 599 F.3d 973 (9th Cir. 2010) (finding that an immigration judge does not have jurisdiction overU visa applications and affirming the Board's decision regarding the denial of a continuance where the noncitizen failed to demonstrate to the immigration court that she complied with the regulations which require a signed law enforcement certification to establish prima facie eligibility for a U visa)....

...Where a noncitizen is in proceedings and appears to qualify for a U nonimmigrant visa or is a spouse, child, parent, or unmarried sibling of a noncitizen who has applied for a U visa, ICE assistant chief counsel can agree to a joint motion to terminate or administratively close removal proceedings[1] or to a motion for a continuance in order to allow the adjudication of a U visa application by the DHS.[...

Immigration Court Practice Manual

List of available sources in the manual:

Immigration Court Practice Manual
The United States Department of Justice provides this court manual for free.

Board of Immigration Appeals Practice Manual

The Practice Manual guides attorneys and representatives on practice
before the Board.

Introduction (Cover Page)
Table of Contents (Summary)
Table of Contents (Detailed)
Chapter 1 - The Board of Immigration Appeals
Chapter 2 - Appearances before the Board
Chapter 3 - Filing with the Board
Chapter 4 - Appeals of Immigration Judge Decisions
Chapter 5 - Motions before the Board
Chapter 6 - Stays and Expedited Requests
Chapter 7 - Bond
Chapter 8 - Oral Argument
Chapter 9 - Visa Petitions
Chapter 10 - Fines
Chapter 11 - Discipline of Practitioners
Chapter 12 - Forms
Chapter 13 - Freedom of Information Act (FOIA)
Chapter 14 - Other Information
Appendix A - Mailing Addresses
Appendix B - Directory
Appendix C - Organizational Chart
Appendix D - Deadlines
Appendix E - Forms
Appendix F - Sample Cover Page
Appendix G - Sample Proof of Service
Appendix H - Sample Certification of Translation
Appendix I - Telephonic Information
Appendix J - Citation Guidelines
Appendix K - Where to File a Motion

Board of Immigration Appeals Practice Manual
The Practice Manual guides attorneys and representatives on practice before the Board.

Manual(s)

The U Visa Obtaining Status for Immigrant Victims of Crime by Sally Kinoshita, Susan Bowyer, Jessica Farb & Catherine Seitz
The U Visa: Obtaining Status for Immigrant Victims of Crime will guide you through the entire process of handling an immigration case for a U visa applicant – from eligibility screening for U nonimmigrant status through adjustment of status to assisting eligible family members and helping U nonimmigrants travel. In addition, this manual provides numerous practice pointers and sample materials to help in handling your client’s case. These include sample checklists, cover letters, declarations, receipt notices, and othe

Trial Handbooks

Immigration Trial Handbook, 2013 ed by Maria Baldini-Potermin
Immigration Trial Handbook is a step-by-step, practice-oriented guidebook that discusses the procedure, techniques, and strategies for representing noncitizens in removal proceedings at the administrative level. It contains:
Practice tips,Checklists,Pitfall cautions,Citations to relevant statutes,Regulations,Case authorities
Practice rules,Agency memoranda
Beginning with an overview of inadmissibility and deportability, the publication devotes successive chapters to detailed guidance on relevant matters, including:Preparation for immigration court, CustodyPreparation for the master calendar hearing,Assertion of claimsPreparation of evidence and witnessesConduct of the hearing Proceedings before the Board of Immigration AppealsThe publication also covers trial practice under the Executive Office for Immigration Review's Immigration Court Practice Manual.